What to take hiking in El Paso.

My first hiking selfie back on March 6st.
My first hiking selfie back on March 6st, 2015 on the Tin Mine trail. My outfit and bag consisted of “too much stuff”

So what does one take hiking in El Paso in order to ensure a fun and safe time?

After seeing what other hikers bring along with them and experimenting with what I feel comfortable hauling around for a couple hours at a time I’ve decided to take some time to write on this topic. I hope this can serve as a guide for anyone to pick a trail and get out there. This week I’ll be making posts that expand on the following list.

Bare necessities:

  • hat
  • comfortable clothing
  • athletic shoes or hiking boots
  • water
  • sunscreen
  • more water

That’s really it! I left off mentioning a phone since most of us carry one around at every moment of every day. Any addition to the list would be to increase safety, convenience and comfort (sunglasses, backpack, snacks, first aid kit).

Whatever you do bring, make sure you’re comfortable, protected from the sun, and hydrated!

Leave a comment